Nebosh International General Certificate (IGC), UK


About the course:

The NEBOSH International General Certificate (IGC) offers a comprehensive understanding of occupational health and safety principles and practices. The program is specifically designed for managers, supervisors, and employee representatives to help manage risks more effectively. NEBOSH IGC focuses on international standards and management systems, enabling candidates in any industrial sector to efficiently execute workplace health and safety responsibilities.

NEBOSH International General Certificate is a globally recognized health and safety qualification intended for companies or individuals working to international standards with regards to Health, Safety & Environment. This course focuses on the International Labor Standards (ILO) codes of practice. Upon successful completion of the certificate, delegates can apply for a membership with the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) and/or International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) as its qualification meets the academic requirements for Technician Membership (Tech IOSH) of IOSH and Associate membership (AIIRSM) of the IIRSM.

Who should register for this course?

This course is suitable for individuals who aspire to gain health & safety knowledge on how to manage risks and hazards in any area of any business. It is also particularly suitable for individuals who are interested to embark on a career in the Health, Safety, and Environment.

NEBOSH IGC new syllabus:
The syllabus is divided into 2 units:
(Unit 1) IG1: Management of International Health and Safety;
(Unit 2) IG2: Risk Assessment.
Each of the two units is further divided into a number of elements. There are 11 elements which cover a range of workplace hazards and methods of control and are as follows:
  1. Why we should manage workplace health and safety
  2. How health and safety management systems work and what they look like
  3. Managing risk – understanding people and processes
  4. Health and safety monitoring and measuring
  5. Physical and psychological health
  6. Musculoskeletal health
  7. Chemical and biological agents
  8. General workplace issues
  9. Work equipment
  10. Fire
  11. Electricity
The IGC has two-unit assessments:
  • one question paper
  • one practical risk assessment
Elements 1 to 4 (IG1) are assessed by a written exam lasting 2 hours.
Elements 5 to 11 (IG2) are assessed by a practical assignment that should take around 3 hours to complete
Participants must achieve the minimum pass standard (45 marks) in the written assessment unit. Grading for practical unit is either a ‘Pass’ or ‘Refer’. The qualification grade (distinction, credit, pass, refer) is only based on the result from question paper (Unit IG1) but learners need to achieve a ‘Pass’ in both units (IG1 and IG2) before the parchment, NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety, is issued.
The training is spread over 9 days plus 1/2 day for the written examination.